The U.S.-Japan Alliance Conference Series, Year VII: Advancing Cooperation on Defense and Strategic Technology
A link to join the meeting will be sent to participants prior to the event.
February 23, 2021
3:30–5:00 p.m. EST /
12:30–2:00 p.m. PST
February 25, 2021
12:00–1:30 p.m. EST /
9:00–10:30 a.m. PST
Conference I: The Next Phase in U.S.-Japan Defense Cooperation
On February 23, 2021, RAND will host a seminar on the future of U.S.-Japan defense cooperation against the backdrop of Japan’s cancellation of the Aegis Ashore ballistic missile defense system and associated debates over whether or not to procure counter-strike or “enemy base attack” capabilities and the implications of these choices for allied planning on roles and missions. Former U.S. Ambassador to Japan Caroline Kennedy (2013–2017) will offer a set of keynote remarks on the importance of the alliance for the two countries and experts from Japan and the U.S. will describe how debates over these questions are seen from the perspectives of Tokyo and Washington.
Conference II: The U.S.-Japan Alliance and the Challenge of Building Trusted 5G Communications Networks
On February 25, 2021, leading U.S. and Japanese experts on 5G technology issues will exchange insights and understandings on how the evolving telecommunications infrastructure, role of the private sector and the government, and policy options for U.S.-Japan IT cooperation are seen by American and Japanese analysts.
 
 
Select a ticket quantity to register.
Event has ended.
 
 
Sold out.
This event is sold out. Please email education@thecnm.org to request to be placed on the waitlist. Please provide your name, organization, phone number and email address along with the name of the seminar.